Know Your Faith Series – The Sacraments cont’d.

There are seven Sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Reconciliation (Penance), Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. They are divided into three groupings:

  1. The sacraments of initiation (Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist)
  2. The sacraments of healing (Reconciliation, Anointing of the Sick)
  3. The sacraments serving the Church and the mission of the faithful (Holy Orders, Matrimony)
  4. Three Initiation Sacraments (1212)

Baptism, Confirmation, and Eucharist lay the foundations of the Christian life. Just as every natural life has an origin, development and nourishing, so the faithful are born anew (Baptism), are strengthened (Confirmation), and receive the food of eternal life (Eucharist).

  1. Two Sacraments Confronting Sin and Death (1420-1421)

We carry this new life “in earthen vessels” (2 Cor 4:7). We are in “an earthly tent” subject to suffering, illness and death; this new life can be weakened and even lost by sin. Christ, who forgave the sins of the paralytic (and then healed him) wants his work of healing and salvation to continue. Therefore, he gave us the sacraments of Penance and Anointing of the Sick.  (cont’d)